A major part of Britain’s healthcare is provided by the private sector who have the skills and capacity to undertake procedures quickly and cost effectively.


A wide range of high quality services is available to purchasers through agreements between the public and independent sectors. Independent healthcare facilities include:

  • Private hospitals and clinics
  • Private nursing and residential homes
  • Private patient units in NHS Trusts
  • Independent acute psychiatric hospitals


Continuing partnership between the independent sector, the NHS and local authorities means:

  • More choice
  • Many NHS Trusts buy services from independent hospitals to reduce service pressures.


The Independent Healthcare Association (IHA) is an association for the UK’s independent healthcare sector. The association promotes the highest standards in independent health and social care. Members include charitable and private providers of:

  • Independent nursing and residential care
  • Domiciliary care
  • Psychiatric and substance misuse services
  • Pathology laboratories
  • Rehabilitation services
  • Day services